YIBS Staff

Eric Sargis

Director, Yale Institute for Biospheric Studies

Professor of Anthropology, Archaeological Studies, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, and the Yale School of the Environment, Department of Anthropology 

Curator of Vertebrate Paleontology and Vertebrate Zoology (Mammalogy)Peabody Museum of Natural History

“I study the functional morphology and systematics of both living and extinct mammals. My research focuses on the biodiversity, morphological evolution, and paleobiology of several groups of mammals, including primates and treeshrews.”

Carla Staver

Carla Staver

Associate Director, Yale Institute for Biospheric Studies

Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

“I am interested in the ecology and ecosystem impacts of chronic disturbances (including fire and herbivory), especially at the interface of savannas and forests. I work mostly in African savannas but have global interests in fire- and herbivory-prone ecosystems.”

LaToya Sealy Cotto

Assistant Director of Finance and Administration
latoya.sealycotto@yale.edu

Jonathan Rohner

Director of Finance and Administration
jonathan.rohner@yale.edu

Luiz Cordeiro

Financial Assistant 
luiz.cordeiro@yale.edu

Hannah Meyer

Assistant Director of Visitor Experience and Special Events
hannah.meyer@yale.edu 

Timothy Sandrey

Associate Communications Officer
timothy.sandrey@yale.edu 

Sappho Gilbert

Science Communications Fellow
sappho.gilbert@yale.edu

Andy Melien

Digital Media Specialist 
andrew.melien@yale.edu

    Sarah Morrill

    Assistant Director, Grants Management 
    sarah.morrill@yale.edu