Edward P. Bass Distinguished Visiting Environmental Scholars Program

The Edward P. Bass Distinguished Visiting Environmental Scholars Program was created in July 2002 with a generous gift by Edward P. Bass to YIBS.

The Bass Visiting Environmental Scholars Program brings premier scholars in any field dealing with the study of the environment, past or present, to Yale for an extended period of time. The scholars are nominated through the YIBS Faculty Affiliates, and while in residence at Yale, scholars present seminars, interact with faculty, students and research groups, and participate in the life of one or more academic units.

Dr. Rita Colwell was named as the inaugural Edward P. Bass Distinguished Visiting Environmental Scholar in the spring of 2005, and YIBS has hosted upwards of 40 scholars since then.

Current Bass Environmental Scholars

Stanley Ambrose

Research Description: Stanley Ambrose is a paleoanthropologist conducting research on early hominid origins and evolution in Africa, and modern human origins, adaptations and expansions out of Africa during the last three ice ages. He uses archaeological and geological methods, and environmental isotope biogeochemistry of modern and fossil plants, animals, and soils to reconstruct past habitats, climates, diets, residential life histories, and human social interaction networks. Fossil tooth enamel and ostrich eggshell are highly resistant to alteration over time. Their carbon and oxygen isotope ratios preserve environmental information with high fidelity. He is developing new methods to improve reliability of stable and radiometric dating analyses. His ultimate goal is to understand the evolution of human cooperation in variable ice age and stable interglacial environments.

Appointment Date: Spring 2024

Timothy Lyons

Research Description: Timothy Lyons (Yale, PhD, 1992), a distinguished professor at the University of California, Riverside, will work with Yale colleague Noah Planavsky in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences to study the many environmental and ecological challenges linked to shrinking lakes in arid regions around the world. In the face of intense droughts, increased evaporation with warming temperatures, and greater demand on water resources, lakes throughout the world are drying, exposing surrounding regions to diverse consequences that include threats to human health from increased dust loads. Initially focusing on the largest lake in California, the Salton Sea, the two biogeochemists will use traditional and novel readily extrapolatable methods to explore the cycling of potentially toxic metals, microbial pathogens, and pesticides/herbicides and the pathways by which these contaminants once airborne can impact communities and ecologies near and far.

Appointment Date: Spring 2024


Past Bass Environmental Scholars

Thomas Bianchi (Professor of Geology, Jon L. and Beverly A. Thompson Endowed Chair of Geological Sciences, University of Florida) Fall 2023
Carlos Navas (Professor of Physiology, Physiology Department of the Biosciences Institute, University of São Paulo) Fall 2023
Erin Saupe (Associate Professor of Palaeobiology, Department of Earth Sciences, University of Oxford) Spring 2023
Greg Wilson Mantilla (Professor, Department of Biology, University of Washington)  Spring 2023
Cheryl Knott (Professor, Department of Anthropology, Boston University) Fall 2022
Rees Kassen (Professor, University of Ottawa) Fall 2022 
José Paruelo (Instituto Nacional de Investigación Agropecuaria (Uruguay) & IFEVA-Facultad de Agronomía. Universidad de Buenos Aires and CONICET) Spring 2022
Caroline Strömberg (Estella B. Leopold Professor in Biology and Curator of Paleobotany, University of Washington) Spring 2022
Steven Hamburg (Chief Scientist, Environmental Defense Fund)  Fall 2020
John Damuth (Research Biologist of Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology, Univeristy of California, Santa Barbara) 

Fall 2019 & Spring 2020

Susan Mazer (Professor of Ecology and Evolution

University of California, Santa Barbara; President, California Botanical Society)

Fall 2019 & Spring 2020

Michael Hochberg (Research Director, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, University of Montpellier, France)

Fall 2019
P. David Polly (American paleontologist and the Robert R. Shrock Professor in the Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences at Indiana University) Spring 2019
Mark Swilling (Distinguished Professor and Programme Coordinator: Sustainable Development in the School of Public Leadership, University of Stellenbosch and Academic Director of the Sustainability Institute) Spring 2018
Nancy Knowlton (coral reef biologist and is the Smithsonian Institution’s Sant Chair for Marine Science) Fall 2017
Robert Wallace (Director, Greater Madidi - Tambopata Landscape & Amazon Landscape Conservation Expert Wildlife Conservation Society) Spring 2017
Roy Plotnick (Professor Invertebrate Paleontology, Landscape Ecology, Statistical Methods) Spring 2017
Aaron Ellison (ecologist & environmental conservationist) Spring 2016
Ana Magdalena Hurtado (evolutionary anthropologist) Spring 2016
Julia Marton-Lefèvre (environmentalist & academic) Spring 2016
Grae Worster (fluid dynamicist) Spring 2016
Bill Weber (wildlife conservationist) Spring 2014
Jeremy Jackson (marine ecologist & paleontologist) Spring 2014
Jonathan Bloch (paleontologist) Spring 2013
Hugh Possingham (conservation biologist) Spring 2013
Carlos Jaramillo (paleobiologist & geologist) Fall 2012 & Spring 2013
Arne Mooers (evolutionary biologist) Spring 2012
Scott Wing (biologist) Spring 2012
Daniel Lashof (climate policy expert) Fall 2011
Dame Alison Richard (anthropologist & conservationist) Summer & Fall 2011
Kevin de Queiroz (zoologist) Spring 2011
Link Olson (biologist) Spring 2011
Paul Richards (anthropologist) Spring 2011
Rosemary & Peter Grant (evolutionary biologists) Fall 2010
David Fox (evolutionary paleoecologist) Spring 2010
Inez Fung (atmospheric scientist) Fall 2009 & Spring 2010
Michael Benton (paleontologist) Spring 2009
David Beerling (geobiologist) Fall 2008 & Spring 2009
Christian Koerner (botanist) Spring 2007
William Cronon (environmental historian) Spring 2007
Michael Teitelbaum (demographer) Fall 2006 & Spring 2007
Stephen Sparks (volcanologist) Fall 2006 & Spring 2007
Dorceta Taylor (sociologist) Fall 2005
Rita Colwell (environmental microbiologist) Spring 2005

About Edward P. Bass

Mr. Bass, ’67 (’68 BS), is active in business, conservation, and ranching and is a committed environmentalist. He co-founded Biosphere 2, an environmental research and conservation project near Tucson, Arizona. He is chairman of the Executive Committee of the World Wildlife Fund and founding trustee of the Philecology Trust. He serves on the executive committees of the New York Botanical Garden and the Botanical Research Institute of Texas and has been a leader in the decade-long redevelopment of downtown Fort Worth. In addition to graduating from Yale College, Mr. Bass studied at Yale’s School of Architecture from 1968-70. His service to Yale includes co-chair of the Leadership Council of the Yale School of the Environment, member and former founding chair of the YIBS External Advisory Board, and former member of the University Council and former chair of the Council Committee on the Peabody Museum. He was named Successor Trustee in 2001.